Thursday, October 29, 2009

Arts in Community awards created by Maatwerk Studio

Maatwerk Studio, located in Madison, Wisconsin was recently commissioned to design and create unique works of glass art that will be given by Arts Wisconsin as their 2009 Arts in Community awards. Matt Heindl just completed work on the awards and pictures will be posted shortly, both here and to the Image Gallery on the website.

Arts Wisconsin, Wisconsin's statewide arts service, advocacy and development organization, recently handed out their inaugural Arts in the Community Awards. These awards, presented by Arts Wisconsin in partnership with the League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Wisconsin Alliance of Cities and Wisconsin Towns Association, have been created to honor local leaders around the state who have helped the arts grow and thrive in their communities, and to thank them for their exemplary advocacy, support, volunteerism, philanthropy and other assistance on behalf of the arts. Award winners for 2009 were selected by a panel of experts from a statewide pool of nominees.

This year's winners of the Arts in Community awards are:
-Carol Kratchowill, Vice President of the Sauk County Art Association, of Merrimac, nominated by the Sauk County Art Association (SCAA); award to be presented at the conference of the Wisconsin Towns Association, October 13, 2009, at the Holiday Inn & Convention Center in Stevens Point. Ms. Kratchowill was honored for her ongoing advocacy on behalf of SCAA and the arts in Sauk County, and her creative leadership for SCAA's new "Encore Art! Reuse-Recycle-Rethink" art competition. More information about the Towns Association is available at
-Menomonie Mayor Dennis Kropp and former Dunn County Board member B. Jane Hoyt of Menomonie, nominated by the Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts; award to be presented at the conference of the League of Wisconsin Municipalities, October 14, 2009, at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in Appleton. Mayor Kropp and Ms. Hoyt were recognized for their leadership to restore and renovate the historic Mabel Tainter Theatre building in downtown Menomonie. More information about the League of Municipalities is available at
-Julia Taylor, President of the Greater Milwaukee Committee, of Milwaukee, nominated by the Cultural Alliance of Greater Milwaukee and the United Performing Arts Fund; award to be presented by the Wisconsin Alliance of Cities; presentation date and location to be announced. Ms. Taylor has demonstrated outstanding civic leadership through her chairmanship of the United Performing Arts Fund annual campaign and support of the Creative Coalition and cultural development throughout the Milwaukee 7 region. More information about the Alliance of Cities is available at

Peter Crawford, President of the Board of Directors of Arts Wisconsin, said that they are "pleased to honor these leaders for their exceptional commitment to the arts in their communities...These awards demonstrate the depth and breadth of support for arts and creative opportunities by elected officials and civic leaders across the state."

No comments:

Post a Comment